My Interactive Timeline

So Back again… for my Unit I have to Make an Interactive Timeline with some of the games I have played and have Inspired Me.

 

Super Mario World SNES – First released in 1990, Played in 1997  (Publisher, Nintendo. Genre, Plat-former) – This was the first ever Game I remember Playing as a very young child. I must have been about 3-4 years of age which is really strange considering I distinctly remember playing this game. It is one of my favourite Mario games of all time. I will always play this game over and over.

Mario Kart SNES – First Released in 1992, Played in 1998  (Publisher, Nintendo. Genre, Racing) – I remember playing this and thinking how hard it was and that I loved playing as Princess Peach because she was blonde like me and a princess. I don’t like peach much any more because i prefer strong independent women characters who doesn’t need to be saved by a Man every five seconds ;P 

Yoshi’s island SNES – First released in 1995, Played in 1998  (Publisher, Nintendo) – This Game was amazing as a child and I am dying to play it again to re-live nostalgia. I love Yoshi so much!!!

Donkey Kong SNES – first released in 1994, Played in 1999 (Publisher, Nintendo) – This was such a cool game. The way you play this Game still intrigues me to this day. It wasn’t just generic Jumping up and down. You could ride rhinos, swing on vines, ride in mines through a tram and fly around through barrels. 

Mario N64 – First released in 1996, Played in 1999 (Publisher Nintendo. Genre, Action Adventure Platformer) –This game was bloody massive and it was such a tease to have Yoshi up on the roof at the end like I wanted to ride that little b****. I feel that this game was so interactive and immersive it was amazing. I found it very hard to get bored of this game.

Mario Kart 64- Released in 1997, Played in 1999 (Developer Nintendo. Genre, Racing.) –I spent so much time playing two players on this game and losing because I was probably like eight and had the reactions of a sloth. I’m happy to say that age has taught me well and I’m pretty Good at these games now. 

Pokemon Stadium-  Released in 2000, Played in 2000 (Developer, Hal Laboratories. Genre RPG, Fighting) First ever Pokemon game played. I remember seeing an advert for this whilst watching Pokemon the first movie and was like I was like I need this in my life right now.

Zelda Ocarina of time – First Released in 1998, Played in 2000 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre Action Adventure) –This was the first ever Zelda game I played through until the end I vaguely remember playing Link to the past but was so confused on how this all worked. I loved the whole riding on a horse and trying to figure out all these temples. It was a truly beautiful game and I’ve honestly never played a game with such intricate and cunning puzzles in my life.

 

Pikmin –  Released in 2002, First played in 2002 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Action Strategy) –I made my uncle play this when I was 8 I loved watching it. Pikmin were the cutest things I’ve ever seen I was in love. I played it shortly after, this was an entirely new concept to me and it was such a clever one. I don’t come across many games like this if I’m  honest its clever and pretty original in my opinion.

Smash Bros Melee-  Released in 2002, First played in 2002 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Action Fighting) -The tensions were high in this game especially whenever you won you were accused of button bashing. Basically people played this game and became consumed with being a sore loser. It was very fun :D.

Sonic Adventure 2 Battle-First Released in 2002, First Played in 2002 . (Developer, Sega. Genre action, adventure) –The Dynamics of this game were very fast especially when you played as sonic. It was very quick paced and streamlined. My favourite part though has to be the special feature where you have your own virtual pet called a Chao. I am still dying for them to release a game with the Chao feature and so do many people.

Starfox adventures – First Released in 2002, First Played in 2002. (Developer, Rare. Genre, Action- adventure.) – First Star Fox game I played and I was thrilled it was such a cool little adventure. Naturally to its current fans at the time it was disappointing because they were looking forward to a game with a completely different interface. The fans wanted to shoot space ships and play as Falco. Running around with a staff accompanied b y a very cute baby dinosaur was not what they had in mind. Anyone new to Star Fox 9/10 loved it. I did I personally think it was a very brave step and if it wasn’t for the fans hearts being set on space ships it would have been more popular. 

Mario Party 4- First Released in 2003, First Played in 2003 . (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Board game, Party) –Pretty cool Game and the mini games were very creative as a game designer its a very good game too look at and get inspiration for something unique. Its more entertaining then playing monopoly that’s for sure. 

Skies of Arcadia – First  Released in 2000, First Played in 2003 (Developer, Overworks. Genre RPG.) This game was absolutely incredible. In-fact this game was one of the games that has inspired me to do games design. This game had such an emotionally charged storyline. Also had an amazing concept of flying around on a ship in the sky in a massive open world filled with discoveries. I am dying for them to make a remake of this game in like amazing graphics. Since Skies of Arcadia I’ve had a passion for games with an amazing compelling narrative.

Final Fantasy 10- First Released in 2001 PlayStation (Developer Square Enix. Genre RPG.) -I remember my mother showing me this Game and telling me that its got a great story like Skies of Arcadia and we should play it together. Oh my God it is without a doubt one of the best games i have ever played in all time. This game had amazing Aesthetics not only was the narrative completely mind blowing but has an incredible interface as well. This has been one of the biggest inspirations for me to pursue a carer in the video game industry.

Legend of Zelda Wind Waker – Released in Europe 2003, First played in 2003 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Action Adventure.) – Personally My favourite Zelda but only by a small margin in comparison to Ocarina of time and Twilight Princess. I think what won me over was the fact you get to travel the sea something I have never seen before. Every time I play this game from the beginning it feels completely new as it almost feels like a maze. It has so much more Exploration in my opinion which is what set it apart for me. The Self shaded graphics was a new one for me and was pretty beautiful.

Tales Of Symphonia – Released in Europe 2004, First Played in 2004 (Developer Namco. Genre RPG) – I was reluctant to play this game at first as someone told me it was a rip off of Skies Of Arcadia… but I watched my uncle play through it was reluctant and first but then learned that this person ha fibbed to me and and in fact this game was like a drug addiction and worth staying up until 4.00 am to play it. I was completely hooked just by watching it and then played it for myself. It was so compelling and the fight system was so much fun. This is another major influence of why I am studying what i am studying today.

Paper Mario Thousand year door- First  Released in 2004, First Played in 2004 (developer intelligent systems. Genre, Adventure, RPG) – Very fun game like more than very… just getting tired now its like 11.00pm which is still early for most folk my age but I’m a tired and hungry person so life isn’t always easy. But this game had a great story, great interface and a lot of exploration. I want to play it again soooooon.

Time for a piss and a snack (TMI but I’m tired and don’t care.)

Done now lets roll.

Legend Of Zelda Twilight Princess – First Released  in 2006, first played in 2006 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Action Adventure) – This Gave me similar aesthetics to Ocarina Of Time. It was a more developed and prettier version. It was very addictive to play and extremely enjoyable and immersive. The narrative was fitting and altogether flowed nicely.

Super Mario Galaxy  -First  Released in 2007, First played in 2007 (Developer Nintendo. Genre  Action Adventure, Platformer.) -This reminded me of Mario N64 with the Open world which could be gradually unlocked as the player goes through the game. In the sense of Mario plat formers it felt very new and refreshing. The graphics was beautiful and very Aesthetically Pleasing. One of my favourite Mario games of all time.

Mario Kart Wii – First Released in  2008, First Played in 2008 (Developer, Nintendo. Genre, Racing, Party) –Ive always been a sucker for Mario Kart games and still very competitive.  Each time I play Mario Kart the tracks get more fun and creative. It is amazing playing Mario Kart each time and watching it how it has developed from the last. I always find that they add some new interesting feature each time a Mario kart is released. A round of Mario kart and rode rage is always a good thing to get the Family together bonding and screaming, “who the fuck Blue shelled me?” 

Xenoblade –  Released in 2011, First Played in 2011 (Developer, Monolith Soft. Genre, Adventure RPG) ” I wish Nintendo did more games like this instead of games like, “My Aquarium”, or any games “PETZ” the type of games where the animation looks like your trying to force a stiff corpse to move with invisible strings… There has been a lot of those recently Nintendo which is also why there is not a lot on my Wii List. Anyway back on subject… This game was utterly amazing, the the fighting system was great, also the open world was huge and immersive as well as completely beautiful. The narrative was compelling. I was slightly disappointed by the graphics as because the whole game was amazing but I think the graphics could have been better especially in the character department. The graphics for the open world was fair quality considering the size of it. Overall its Amazing.

 

Just to verify these are not my games and information can be found below.

 

Super Mario World SNES Reference

CCH, Centre For Computing History. (2013) Super Mario World [Online] Available from: http://www.computinghistory.org.uk/det/39431/Super-Mario-World/  [Accessed on 24th November 2015.]

 

Super Mario Kart

CCH, Centre for Computing History. (2013) Super Mario Kart [Online] Available from:  http://www.computinghistory.org.uk/det/32224/Super-Mario-Kart/  [Accessed on 24th November 2015.]

NINTENDO. (2015)  Super Mario Kart [Online] Available from: http://www.nintendo.com/games/detail/18igoQM8gWRmoICYlLMoSuozKwWGgTUP [Accessed on the 29th November 2015.]

 

Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island

Japancommercials4U2 (2010) Super Mario World 2: Yoshi’s Island USA Promo. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WKzA-SCjnG4 [Accessed on 24th November 2015]

 

Donkey Kong Country

CCH, Centre for Computing History (2013) Donkey Kong Country. [Online] Available from: http://www.computinghistory.org.uk/det/27081/Donkey-Kong-Country/ [Accessed on the 24th November 2015].

 

Super Mario 64

Nintendo (1996)  Instruction Booklet Super Mario 64. [Online] Available  from: https://cdn02.nintendo-europe.com/media/downloads/games_8/emanuals/nintendo_8/Manual_Nintendo64_SuperMario64_EN.pdf [Accessed on the 24th November 2015].

NINTENDO (2015) Super Mario 64 [Online] Available from:  https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-64/Super-Mario-64-269745.html  [Accessed on the 29th November 2015].

 

Mario Kart 64

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) Mario Kart 64. [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-64/Mario-Kart-64-269558.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015].

 

Pokemon Stadium

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) Pokemon Stadium. [Online] Available from:  https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-64/Pokemon-Stadium-269679.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015].

 

The Legend of Zelda Ocarina Of Time

Nintendo Official UK site. (1998) Instruction booklet, The Legend of Zelda Ocarina Of Time. [Online] Available from: https://cdn02.nintendo-europe.com/media/downloads/games_8/emanuals/nintendo_8/Manual_Nintendo64_TheLegendOfZeldaOcarinaOfTime_EN.pdf [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

NINTENDO (2015) The Legend Of Zelda Ocarina of time. [Online] Avaliable From: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-64/The-Legend-of-Zelda-Ocarina-of-Time-269536.html [Accessed on the 29th of November 2015]

 

Pikmin

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) Pikmin [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Pikmin-268533.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Super Smash Bros Melee

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) Super Smash Bros Melee [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Super-Smash-Bros-Melee-268951.html  [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Sonic Adventure 2: Battle

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) Sonic Adventure 2: Battle. [Online] Available From: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Sonic-Adventure-2-Battle-268709.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Starfox Adventures 

Nintendo GameCube. (2002) Starfox Adventures. [Online] Available from: http://web.archive.org/web/20070901184836/http://www.nintendo.com.au/gamecube/games/starfox.php [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Mario Party 4

Nintendo Official UK Site. (2015) Mario Party 4 [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Mario-Party-4-268280.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Skies of Arcadia

Game Faqs (2015) Skies Of Arcadia [Online] Available from: http://www.gamefaqs.com/dreamcast/197237-skies-of-arcadia/images  [Accessed on the the 29th November 2015]

METACRITIC (2003) Skies Of Arcadia [Online] Available from: http://www.metacritic.com/game/gamecube/skies-of-arcadia-legends [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

Final Fantasy 10 

SQUARE ENIX [2014] Final Fantasy [Online] Available from: http://na.square-enix.com/us/games/final-fantasy-xx2-hd-remaster  [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

Game Faqs (2001) Final Fantasy [Online] Available from: http://www.gamefaqs.com/ps2/197344-final-fantasy-x [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

The Legend  Of Zelda Wind Waker

Nintendo Official UK site. (2015) The Legend Of Zelda Wind Waker [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/The-Legend-of-Zelda-The-Wind-Waker-269039.html [Accessed on the 24th November 2015]

 

Tales Of Symphonia 

NINTENDO (2015) Tales Of Symphonia [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Tales-of-Symphonia-268973.html [Accessed on the 29th 2015]

 

Paper Mario Thousand year door

NINTENDO (2015) Super paper Mario [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Nintendo-GameCube/Paper-Mario-The-Thousand-Year-Door-268500.html [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

Legend Of Zelda Twilight Princess

NINTENDO (2015) The legend of Zelda [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Wii/The-Legend-of-Zelda-Twilight-Princess-283542.html [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

Super Mario Galaxy

NINTENDO (2015) Super Mario Galaxy [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Wii/Super-Mario-Galaxy-283322.html [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

Mario Kart wii

NINTENDO [2015] Mario Kart Wii [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Wii/Mario-Kart-Wii-281848.html [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

Xenoblade Chronicles

NINTENDO [2015] Xenoblade Chronicles [Online] Available from: https://www.nintendo.co.uk/Games/Wii/Xenoblade-Chronicles-284070.html [Accessed on the 29th November 2015]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment